If i could ever give you one good piece of writing advice, one that any non-published and published writer could give you, it would be to find a system that works for you.

I use WriteWayPro (I am not affiliated with them, and this is not a publicity scam) to build my novels. Some people use Scrivener. Others will use Word, OpenOffice (which happens to be the only one of these programs which costs you nothing). Some stick with word processors and the occasional typewriter or good old fashion notebooks.

The machine you use isn’t what’s important, it’s how it works for you. If extensive notes more impressive than the valedictorian’s biology notes with every color Sharpie pen and neon sticky notes and intricate maps and drawings are what work for you, then by all means, do it.

You want to keep things organized and easily accessible. I can be the first to tell you that writer’s brains can be very disorganized. You want to write every story that pops into your head, but keeping everything straight isn’t easy. A system of notes to keep track of all your ideas is the best way. A small notebook in your purse, or a Bluetooth keyboard to that tablet your significant other surprised you with for your birthday. Some even use voice recorders. Just find a way to remember those cool, impressive details.

For Harry Potter fans like myself. The entire series could have been very different if JKR wasn’t too shy to ask for a pen. She’d have remembered those details, and maybe Voldemort would have been someone even different. Harry could have been different. We will never know.

Your story could change, and, while it worked out for Harry Potter and Co., it could damage your story from the chance. I’m not saying keep every tiny little insignificant detail. What I’m asking is that you have a system that works for you.

I’m still looking for mine to keep general notes. My novels are fleshing out in WriteWay, but my other ideas I’m still working. That will take time, so don’t rush it, and don’t force it with “Well, that’s good enough.” No, allow for growth and change. You grow and change, so why shouldn’t your writing techniques and notekeeping ways?

